Which countries are in the Schengen Area?

Switzerland, Croatia, Ireland, Malta, England, Turkey, Romania... Are they part of the Schengen Area, the European Union, or both? It can sometimes be difficult to understand these different organisations. Here you will find the list of the countries in the Schengen Area and the answers to all your questions about the group.

Countries in the Schengen Area

Since the Schengen Agreement was first signed in 1985 between the 5 founding countries - France, Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg - many other countries on the European continent have joined over the years. The borders of the Schengen Area have expanded to include 26 members as of December 19, 2011 when the latest member joined, Liechtenstein. Currently comprising 22 countries from the European Union, the 26 countries in the Schengen Area are:

- Germany
- Austria
- Belgium
- Denmark
- Spain
- Estonia
- Finland
- France
- Greece
- Hungary
- Iceland (non-EU)
- Italy
- Latvia
- Liechtenstein (non-EU)
- Lithuania
- Luxembourg
- Malta
- Norway (non-EU)
- Netherlands
- Poland
- Portugal
- Czech Republic
- Slovakia
- Slovenia
- Sweden
- Switzerland (non-EU)

Map of the Schengen Area and eurozone

Carte des États membres de la zone euro et de la zone Schengen.

Source: www.vie-publique.fr/carte/270699-les-etats-membres-de-la-zone-euro-et-de...

What is the Schengen Area?

The Schengen Area is a free movement zone without border controls that includes 26 countries. Individuals can move from one country to another without border controls, even if they are not citizens of a Schengen Area country. This stimulates tourism and trade, while a uniform policy is applied to controlling travellers at the external Schengen Area border . Read our article on theSchengen Area for more information.

What are the requirements for entering the Schengen Area?

The requirements for entering the Schengen Area for a short stay (90 days maximum) depend on the traveller’s nationality. Citizens of some countries are exempt from the visa requirement, while others must apply for a short-stay Schengen visa from their country of residence with supporting documents. Unsure about your situation? See our article Which countries need a Schengen visa? for the list of countries that are exempt from the Schengen visa requirement.

Which EU countries are not in the Schengen Area?

Among the European Union Member States, five have not yet joined the Schengen Area:Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland and Romania. Before Brexit, this list also included the United Kingdom, then a member of the European Union, but not of the Schengen Area.

Schengen travel insurance Plus from Europ Assistance covers you for travel in the Schengen Area and the European Union, as well as the United Kingdom. You are covered for illness or bodily injury up to €60,000 and have access to many other benefits in the 26 Schengen Area countries, as well as Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom.

Which countries have signed the Schengen Agreement, but are not part of the EU?

Four Schengen Area countries are not part of the European Union. They areIceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. There are no current plans for them to join the European Union.

Where is the town of Schengen?

The town of Schengen is located in the canton of Remich in Luxembourg. It is located between the signatories of the 1985 Schengen Agreement: Germany, France, Luxembourg, Belgium and the Netherlands. Its geographical location is a perfect symbol of this historic occasion.